The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)


About OECD

The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) was established in 1961 and is headquartered in Paris. It currently has 38 Member States and 5 key partners, including Brazil, India, Indonesia, mainland China, South Africa. The OECD, which is known as the WTO think tank, focuses on research and analysis, emphasizing respect for market mechanisms, reducing government interference, and achieving economic cooperation and development among multinational governments through policy dialogue.


Organizational structure and main tasks


Three major OECD departments, namely, the Council, the Secretariat and the Committee. The Council, which is composed of all member states represented by their ministers and is the highest policy-making organ. It convenes annually to discuss the main economic and social issues facing the member states.


The OECD has 28 specialized committees, with over 100 working groups and expert groups to discuss economic and development issues and to make policy recommendations or reports.


OECD's main duty is policy research, which is formulated, discussed and published research findings by the relevant committees. 


Important issues related to trade and economy in recent years

Economy and Trade

The impact of the COVID-19 epidemic on countries and its corresponsive strategy, the environmental impact of economic development, the digital economy, and so on, and assistance to small and medium-sized enterprise development.


Agriculture and Fisheries

The impact of the epidemic on agriculture and its corresponsive strategy, cooperation between market information and agricultural policies, agricultural prospects and challenges, government support for agriculture and policy recommendations.


Fiscal and Financial Affairs

Fiscal and tax policy recommendations in response to the epidemic, tax information exchange and transparency mechanisms.


Industry and Innovation

Global value chain research, knowledge-based economic issues, shipbuilding and steel industry development.



Taiwan and the OECD

Taiwan is not OECD Member, we participate as the Participant in three committees, namely the Steel Committee, the Competition Committee, and the Fisheries Committee.

Taiwan also has been invited to participate in meetings or trainings, depend on the necessity of OECD, under Committee of Senior Budget Officials and three working groups: shipbuilding, good laboratory practice (GLP), resource productivity and waste.


For more information please refer to the OECD website.